Girls in STEM: The Women of NASA

I was the only female in my Physics and Calculus classes. Most of my career was in a male-dominated field. Yet, I survived and succeeded. There were many jobs I did not get, and many activities I was not “allowed” to participate in, and certainly many questions i.e. “What is a nice girl like you doing in a place like this?”

STEM initiatives cannot ever go away. In fact, they should be cemented into the US Constitution by the ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.

Lazy Happy Bored Happy Sad...

If you have about 50 minutes of time I strongly encourage you to watch the video below. It’s an all-women panel made up of NASA employees discussing how to get more girls and women into the STEM field. But what is STEM you might ask. Let me clear that up for you real quick.

STEM is an acronym of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. In Germany, this is referenced as MINT. While the number of women in this field has increased over the last couple of decades it is still not made up equally of men and women, men are domineering these fields and that is something education policies are trying to address. As an Industrial Engineer, I fall into this STEM field and it’s true. Of the 200-something first year students, less than 50 were female. My AP math and physics classes in high school were made up of…

View original post 654 more words

Leave a Reply

